Verlander wins MVP; Ellsbury is 2d

Detroit righthander Justin Verlander was named the American League MVP today. He the first player to win the Cy Young and MVP in the same season since Dennis Eckersley in 1992.

Jacoby Ellsbury was second, 38 points behind. Adrian Gonzalez was seventh and Dustin Pedroia ninth.

From the BBWAA release:

Verlander, 28, became the first starting pitcher in 25 years to be named MVP and only the second player in the history of BBWAA voting to win all three player awards. He was the AL winner of the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award in 2006. The only other player to do so was pitcher Don Newcombe, the National League Rookie of the Year in 1949 and the NL MVP and Cy Young Award winner in 1956, all with the Brooklyn Dodgers.

The election marked the first time any pitcher won the MVP since Oakland Athletics reliever Dennis Eckersley in 1992. The previous starting pitcher honored was Roger Clemens with the Boston Red Sox in 1986. Verlander won the AL’s Triple Crown of pitching with league-high figures in victories (24), earned run average (2.40) and strikeouts (250). The righthander also led the AL in winning percentage (.828 based on a 24-5 record), innings (251) and opponents’ batting average (.192). His victory total, which included a no-hitter May 7 at Toronto, was the highest in the majors since 1990 when Oakland’s Bob Welch won 27 games.


Loading Comments...