Pawtucket’s Tamburro honored by IL

Tamburro, Mike-1.jpg

The International League announced today that Pawtucket Red Sox president Mike Tamburro, former Columbus and Durham pitcher Dave Eiland, and former Durham manager Bill Evers will be inducted into the league’s Hall of Fame.

The trip were by a vote of current Hall of Fame members, longtime executives, broadcasters, and members of the media.

Tamburro will be inducted prior to a PawSox home game at McCoy Stadium this season. He joins late owner Ben Mondor, Joe Morgan, Jim Rice and Wade Boggs as PawSox in the IL Hall of Fame.

Tamburro joined Pawtucket in 1977 as general manager. He spearheaded the turnaround from a struggling organization to one of minor league baseball’s model franchises. Tamburro, who was appointed president in 1985, has been honored a record five times as the International League Executive of the Year. He has also been a leading force in minor league baseball, serving as a member and former chairman of the industry’s board of trustees.


“It’s the honor of my lifetime to serve the PawSox fans of Rhode Island and southern New England,” Tamburro said. “To steward this organization and to strive to make McCoy Stadium the most fan-friendly facility in New England is a challenge we thrive on each and every day.

“Congratulations to Bill Evers and Dave Eiland and thank you to the IL Hall of Fame committee for this very special recognition. I am especially pleased to share this milestone with our fans, the outstanding PawSox staff, the community, and my family.”

Loading Comments...