Plenty of rings to go around

TAMPA, Fla. — Courtesy of the Red Sox pre-game media notes, here’s an interesting tidbit for you:

The Red Sox roster features 14 players who have won a World Series, representing 8 of the last 10 championship teams:

Angels in 2002: John Lackey

Marlins in 2003: Josh Beckett

Red Sox in 2004: David Ortiz, Kevin Youkilis

White Sox in 2005: Bobby Jenks.

Red Sox in 2007: Josh Beckett, Clay Buchholz, Jacoby Ellsbury, Jon Lester, Daisuke Matsuzaka, David Ortiz, Dustin Pedroia, Kevin Youkilis.

Yankees in 2009: Alfredo Aceves, Marc Melancon.

Giants in 2010: Cody Ross.

Cardinals in 2011: Nick Punto.

The Red Sox need somebody from the 2006 Cardinals and the 2008 Phillies. We’d suggest Chris Carpenter and Cole Hamels.


Loading Comments...

Ski season updates, free from The Boston Globe.
Get the Globe's free newsletter, It's All Downhill, for the latest from the slopes.
Thanks for signing up!