Pawtucket wins International League title

Triple-A Pawtucket claimed its first Governors’ Cup title in 28 years by defeating the Charlotte Knights, 4-1, at Knights Stadium in Fort Mill S.C.

Pawtucket starter Nelson Figueroa held the Knights to one run over six innings. The combined efforts of relievers Will Inman, Jose De La Torre and Josh Fields — who each tossed a scoreless inning — was enough to make an early lead hold up.

The PawSox got two runs in the second inning on a Mike Rivera RBI single and a Che-Hsuan Lin sacrifice fly. They got two more in the seventh thanks to Jeremy Hazelbaker and J.C. Linares, who each drove in a run.


It was the third International League title for the PawSox, the first since 1984.

Pawtucket will now play in the one-game, Triple-A championship game next Tuesday in Durham, N.C.. They await the winner of the Pacific Coast League championship series, which is tied at one game apiece between the Omaha Storm Chasers and the Reno Aces.

Loading Comments...