Myers, Fernandez are Rookie of the Year selections

ORLANDO, Fla. — Tampa Bay outfielder Wil Myers won the Jackie Robinson Award for American League Rookie of the Year.

Tigers shortstop Jose Iglesias, the former Red Sox player, finished second in the voting. Tampa Bay righthander Chris Archer was third.

Myers hit .293 with 13 home runs and 53 RBIs. He was listed first on 23 of the 30 ballots submitted by two writers representing each league city and 131 points in all. Iglesias received five first-place votes and 80 points.

Miami Marlins righthander Jose Fernandez was the National League winner. The 21-year-old Fernandez (12-6, 2.19 ERA) placed first on 26 of 30 ballots Los Angeles Dodgers right fielder Yasiel Puig was second.

The complete voting, including how Globe writers voted, is on


Loading Comments...