David Ortiz Gets a Hit Five Days Later

yunono.jpg

Major League Baseball ruled Wednesday that David Ortiz broke up Yu Darvish’s no-hit bid not once but twice in last Friday’s game vs. the Texas Rangers.

Ortiz officially broke up the no-no with a single with two outs in the ninth inning, but MLB Wednesday changed the scoring of Ortiz’s 7th-inning fly ball from an error to a hit. From the Dallas Morning News:

The ball fell between right fielder Alex Rios and second baseman Rougned Odor after it appeared both were converging on it, then backed off. Official scorer Steve Weller, a 20-year veteran at Rangers games, reviewed the replay several different times before ruling it an error. Weller cited rule 10.12 (a) (1) that allows for a scorer to rule a ball an error if, in the scorer’s mind, fielders using ordinary effort should have caught the ball.

Advertisement

Loading Comments...

Close
Ski season updates, free from The Boston Globe.
Get the Globe's free newsletter, It's All Downhill, for the latest from the slopes.
Thanks for signing up!