Pro Bowl voting: the latest

brady pro bowl.jpg

The NFL released the latest Pro Bowl fan voting tabulations today, and the Patriots have two players who would make the game as a starter if it ended today and several others in contention.

Vince Wilfork leads all AFC interior linemen with 221,195 votes, and Matt Light is second among AFC tackles, behind Jake Long of the Dolphins. (No offense to Light, who’s been injured for a lot of the year, but his inclusion sort of speaks to the silliness of the whole exercise.) Tom Brady is second at quarterback with 622,916 votes, well behind Peyton Manning (1,113,934).

At wide receiver, both Randy Moss and Wes Welker are in the running. Moss is third with 522,035 votes, right on the heels of Andre Johnson (546,693) and Reggie Wayne (543,297). Wes Welker is fifth with 313,641 votes.


Sammy Morris ranks third among fullbacks, behind Le’Ron McClain and Jacob Hester. The Ravens’ McClain is way ahead of San Diego’s Hester.

On the offensive line, Dan Koppen is fourth among centers, where the leader is Indy’s Jeff Saturday. Logan Mankins is fifth at guard, where Alan Faneca is leading and, in an injustice, Steve Neal is nowhere to be found.

Defensively, Jerod Mayo is third among inside linebackers, behind Ray Lewis and James Farrior. Brandon Meriweather is third at strong safety, trailing Troy Polamalu and Brian Dawkins.

On special teams, Stephen Gostkowski is approximately 50,000 votes behind Adam Vinatieri, which is completely unfair but not all that surprising. Welker ranks fourth at kick returner; there is no punt return category. Chris Hanson is fifth among AFC punters.

Drew Brees is the NFL’s leading vote-getter. Brady is sixth overall, fourth among quarterbacks.

Loading Comments...