What’s this roster’s shelf life?

In working on my story for today’s paper on the Patriots’ approach to the offseason, I broke down the roster, and how long each guy is locked up for. And so I thought I’d present the list for you guys.

Gonna have some more CBA stuff today, and our Tale of the Tape later, but for now, here’s a look at when each guy’s contract expires. We have the specific status (restricted, unrestricted, etc.) for this year’s free agents, but I’ll refrain from the rest because of the uncertain labor future.

So you know … if no new labor agreement is struck, then guys with 3-5 accrued years can only be RFAs (I’ll have more of those guys’ situations a little later in the morning), and guys will less experience than that become exclusive rights free agents. One thing you’ll notice is the remarkable balance in the same amount of guys coming up each year. The list:

2009 (15)
CB Leigh Bodden
DE/LB Derrick Burgess
RB Kevin Faulk
K Stephen Gostkowski*
DE Jarvis Green
LB Gary Guyton**
P Chris Hanson
DB Bret Lockett**
G Logan Mankins*
G Stephen Neal
LB Junior Seau
RB Chris Taylor**
TE Benjamin Watson
NT Vince Wilfork
LB Pierre Woods*

* — restricted free agents
** — exclusive rights free agents
*** — WR Tyree Barnes, WR Shun White and RB Eric Kettani are all on the reserve-military list, with one-year deals that allow the Patriots to hold their rights.

2010 (14)
WR Sam Aiken
LB Eric Alexander
DB Kyle Arrington
QB Tom Brady
RB BenJarvus Green-Ellis
OT Matt Light
RB Laurence Maroney
S Brandon McGowan
RB Sammy Morris
WR Randy Moss
WR Isaiah Stanback
RB Fred Taylor
G Ryan Wendell
LB Thomas Williams

2011 (14)
G Dan Connolly
LB Shawn Crable
QB Brian Hoyer
C Dan Koppen
OT Matt LeVoir
S Brandon Meriweather
LB Rob Ninkovich
S James Sanders
KR Matthew Slater
CB Shawn Springs
LB Adalius Thomas
WR Wes Welker
CB Terrence Wheatley
CB Jonathan Wilhite

2012 (14)
NT Ron Brace
OL George Bussey
CB Darius Butler
S Patrick Chung
WR Julian Edelman
LS Jake Ingram
OT Nick Kaczur
LB Jerod Mayo
LB Tyrone McKenzie
G Rich Ohrnberger
DL Myron Pryor
WR Brandon Tate
OT Sebastian Vollmer
DL Mike Wright

2013 (2)

TE Chris Baker
DE Ty Warren


Loading Comments...