Quartet elected as captains, Moss not


Patriots coach Bill Belichick just announced his captains for the 2010 season and they are QB Tom Brady, RB Kevin Faulk, NT Vince Wilfork and LB Jerod Mayo.

Two interesting points on this, and the first one is who’s missing: Randy Moss. He’s the only returning captain from 2009 that won’t be one this year.

So read into that what you will. Sam Aiken’s the other 2009 captain who isn’t one now, and he’s not for obvious reasons (Didn’t make the team).

The second point is the lack of a special teams captain for 2010. Belichick characterized those four as the “team captains”, rather than having guys designated for offense defense or special teams.

When asked if these guys were elected by straight team vote (sometimes, coaches exert veto power), he responded, “Those are the captains.”


Loading Comments...