Belichick wins third AP coach of year award

Today’s end-of-season award announced on NFL Network was coach of the year, and as expected, Bill Belichick is the recipient of the award this year.

Belichick garnered 30 of a possible 50 votes; Buccaneers coach Raheem Morris was second, with 11.5 votes.

During a call into NFL Network, Belichick accepted the award on behalf of the entire Patriots organization and credited his players. Under his tutelage, a young team — particularly on defense — went 14-2 and earned the number one seed in the AFC.

Belichick also said that he has already fielded calls for New England’s draft picks. The team holds three of the first 33 selections.

This is the third time Belichick has won the AP coach of the year award. He also won in 2003 and 2007.


Loading Comments...