Mayo wins Burton Community MVP Award

The Patriots’ Annual Kickoff Gala is being held tonight, and the team just presented the Ron Burton Community MVP Award to linebacker Jerod Mayo.

Mayo is the ninth recipient of the award, which honors players for the good deeds they do in the community. Mayo not only spends many Tuesdays – his off day during the season – taking part in team-sponsored events, he also began his own fundraising event, the Mayo Bowl, last year.

“If it helps kids, he’s there,” said Patriots Executive Director of Community Affairs Andre Tippett in a release. “We know him to always roll up his sleeves while getting involved in creative ways, including leading art projects, serving children dinner and playing interactive games. It is clear that he wants to use his experience as a father to make a difference in the lives of each child he meets.”


Mayo is the youngest player to win the Burton Award.

Previous winners were:

2003 – Joe Andruzzi
2004 – Troy Brown
2005 – Matt Light
2006 – Jarvis Green
2007 – Ty Warren
2008 – Larry Izzo
2009 – Kevin Faulk
2010 – Vince Wilfork

Loading Comments...