Patriots announce six team captains

FOXBOROUGH — The Patriots voted six players to be team captains for the upcoming season: QB Tom Brady, DL Vince Wilfork, LB Jerod Mayo, WR Matthew Slater, OL Logan Mankins and CB Devin McCourty.

The captains are two more than the Patriots had last season. Slater is the special teams captain as he enters his fourth season. McCourty is a captain in just his second season. Mankins is a captain as he enters his seventh season.

On being a captain again, Mayo said, “it feels great, and it’s a great honor. Hopefully, I can lead these guys to success.”

What does it mean to Mayo to be a captain?: “To me, it just means leading by example and making sure everyone is doing the right thing. Coach can’t be there all the time, so I feel like that’s the responsibility of a captain.”


On the younger guys being voted captains: “Those guys came in with the right attitude and put in a lot work into what they do and it shows up on the field and they’re respected by their teammates.”

Loading Comments...