10 teams have used tag; no word on Welker yet

As the deadline for teams to designate a franchise player for the 2012 season draws closer, a flurry of teams have used their tag over the last 24 hours or so.

The Eagles were the first to do so, franchising oft-disgruntled receiver/returner DeSean Jackson. Nine teams have followed.

Some of the tags have been applied in an effort to buy the team and player more time to work out a long-term deal, as the Patriots did that with Vince Wilfork in 2010. That likely won’t be the case in every situation however.

New England is expected to franchise receiver Wes Welker, and has until 3:59 p.m. on Monday to do so.


Here are the 10 players who have been franchised thus far:

Arizona – DE Calais Campbell
Atlanta – CB Brent Grimes
Baltimore – RB Ray Rice
Chicago – RB Matt Forte
Cincinnati – K Mike Nugent
Cleveland – K Phil Dawson
Oakland – S Tyvon Branch
Philadelphia – WR DeSean Jackson
San Francisco – S Dashon Goldson
Washington – TE Fred Davis

Loading Comments...