Wilfork named to first-team AP All-Pro; Mankins on second team

Patriots defensive tackle Vince Wilfork was named to the Associated Press All-Pro first team, a first for the nine-year veteran, and teammate Logan Mankins was named to the second team.

Wilfork had been named to the Pro Football Weekly and Pro Football Writers of America All-Pro team as well. He finished the regular season with 48 solo tackles, three sacks, two forced fumbles, and four fumble recoveries. He had earned second-team All-Pro nods in 2011, 2010, and 2007.

Despite missing six games this season, Mankins was selected to the second team. San Francisco’s Mike Iupati and New Orleans’ Jahri Evans were the first-team honorees, with Baltimore’s Marshal Yanda and Mankins on the second team.


This is the fifth time in the last six years that Mankins is a first- or second-team All-Pro; he was first-team in 2010.

Patriots quarterback Tom Brady got three votes for All-Pro status, finishing third behind Denver’s Peyton Manning (43) and Green Bay’s Aaron Rodgers (4).

Tight end Rob Gronkowski (4 votes) came in third for his position, trailing Atlanta’s Tony Gonzalez (24) and Dallas’s Jason Witten (19).

Jerod Mayo received four votes at inside linebacker; Wes Welker, Sebastian Vollmer and Devin McCourty each received one vote at their respective positions.

Minnesota running back Adrian Peterson and Houston defensive end J.J. Watt were unanimous selections at their positions.

The AP All-Pro team is voted on by 50 NFL media members nationally and is far more respected than a Pro Bowl nod.

The full list of first- and second-team All-Pro teams:

First-team: Peyton Manning, DEN
Second-team: Aaron Rodgers, GB

First: Adrian Peterson, MIN (unanimous pick)
Second: Marshawn Lynch, SEA

First: Vonta Leach, Baltimore
Second: Jerome Felton, MIN
First: Calvin Johnson, DET and Brandon Marshall, CHI
Second: A.J. Green, CIN and Andre Johnson, HOU
First: Tony Gonzalez, ATL
Second: Jason Witten, DAL
First: Duane Brown, HOU and Ryan Clady, DEN
Second: Joe Thomas, CLE and Joe Staley, SF
First: Mike Iupati, SF and Jahri Evans, NO
Second: Marshal Yanda, BAL and Logan Mankins, NE
First: Max Unger, SEA
Second: Maurkice Pouncey, PIT
First: Blain Walsh, MIN
Second: Phil Dawson, CLE
First: Jacoby Jones, BAL
Second: David Wilson, NYG
First: J.J. Watt, HOU (unanimous pick) and Cameron Wake, MIA
Second: Justin Smith, SF and Julius Peppers, CHI
First: Geno Atkins, CIN and Vince Wilfork, NE
Second: Justin Smith, SF, Ndamukong Suh, DET and Haloti Ngata, BAL
First: Von Miller, DEN and Aldon Smith, SF
Second: Chad Greenway, MIN, Ahmad Brooks, SF, Clay Matthews, GB and DeMarcus Ware, DAL
First: Patrick Willis, SF and NaVorro Bowman, SF
Second: Daryl Washington, ARI and London Fletcher, WAS
First: Richard Sherman, SEA and Charles Tillman, CHI
Second: Champ Bailey, DEN and Tim Jennings, CHI
First: Earl Thomas, SEA and Dashon Goldson, SF
Second: Eric Weddle, SD and Jairus Byrd, BUF
First: Andy Lee, SF
Second: Thomas Morestead, NO

Loading Comments...

Ski season updates, free from The Boston Globe.
Get the Globe's free newsletter, It's All Downhill, for the latest from the slopes.
Thanks for signing up!
Sports Q
Who is your Red Sox sleeper?
February 22, 2017 | 7:30 AM