Eight former Patriots on College Football Hall of Fame ballot

The National Football Foundation released the names of 77 players up for consideration for induction to the College Football Hall of Fame, and eight of them are former Patriots.

Andre Tippett, Tedy Bruschi, Vinny Testaverde, Tony Franklin, Charlie Gogolak, Mike Ruth, Rod Shoate, and Don Trull are all on the ballot.

The Hall of Fame class will be revealed at noon May 7 in New York City. The awards dinner is slated for Dec. 10.

A look at the former Patriots:

Tedy Bruschi, Arizona, defensive end — Two-time first-team All-American (1994, ’95) … Tied NCAA career record with 52 sacks … 1995 Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year and three-time first-team All-Pac-10 selection … Helped lead Arizona to three bowls.


Tony Franklin, Texas A&M, placekicker — Two-time first-team All-American (1976, ’78) … Set seven NCAA records, including most 50-yard-plus field goals (15) and most points by a kicker in a career (291).

Charlie Gogolak, Princeton, placekicker — 1965 first-team All-American … Set seven NCAA records … Played on 8-1 Princeton team in 1965 … Two-time first-team All-Ivy … Holds four school records … Revolutionized kicking game utilizing the soccer-style technique.

Mike Ruth, Boston College, nose guard — 1985 first-team All-American and Outland Trophy winner … Three-time All-East and All-ECAC selection … Member of three bowl teams … Recorded 344 career tackles, including 29 sacks.

Rod Shoate, Oklahoma, linebacker — Two-time first-team All-American (1973, ’74) … Finished seventh in 1974 Heisman Trophy voting and twice was named Big 8 Defensive Player of the Year … Ranks third in school history with 420 career tackles.

Vinny Testaverde, Miami, quarterback — Winner of 1986 Heisman Trophy, Walter Camp Award, Maxwell Award, and Davey O’Brien Award … Led Hurricanes to three bowl berths, including 1987 Fiesta Bowl to determine national championship… Had 6,058 career passing yards and 48 TD passes.

Andre Tippett, Iowa, defensive end — 1981 first-team All-American who led Hawkeyes to 1982 Rose Bowl …Two-time first-team All-Big Ten performer …Holds Iowa record for tackles-for-loss yardage (20 TFL/153 yards).

Don Trull, Baylor, quarterback — First-team All-American who led the nation with 22 touchdown passes in 1963 … Set school record with 174 completions in 1963 … Twice named first-team Academic All-American.

Loading Comments...