Sports News

Denna Laing wins two awards at NWHL awards

Denna Laing Courtesy of NWHL

Injured Boston Pride player Denna Laing was honored with two awards at Sunday’s National Women’s Hockey League awards.

Laing won both the NWHL Foundation Award and the Perseverance Award. The awards were announced on social media from the campus of the University of New Hampshire.

Laing took to Twitter Sunday to thank the NWHL, saying, “Keep working hard, I know I will.”

The 24-year-old forward suffered a severe spinal injury while participating in the first Outdoor Women’s Classic on December 31.

The Foundation Award is “awarded to the player most actively applying the core values of hockey to her community as well as growing and improving hockey culture.” The Perseverance Award is awarded to someone who shows “perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to her sport.”

Laing was not the only Pride player honored. The team swept the inaugural #NWHLAwards in fan, writer, and player vote categories, according to the NHWL.


Jump To Comments


This discussion has ended. Please join elsewhere on