Sports News

New England dominates the NCAA Hockey Tournament bracket

Quinnipiac's Connor Jones is knocked into Providence goalkeeper Jon Gillies during the second period of an NCAA men's East Regional hockey tournament on Friday, March 28 in Bridgeport, Conn. Fred Beckham

The 2016 NCAA Hockey Tournament is set to begin on Friday, and eight teams are representing the New England region in this year’s 16-team bracket.

Yale, UMass Lowell, and No. 1 ranked Quinnipiac, who won the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) title, occupy three of the four spots in the East Region, which will be located in Albany, NY.

Three New England teams are in the Northeast Region as well, with Providence, Boston College, and Harvard having earned seeds one through three, respectively.  Those games will be played in Worcester on Friday and Saturday.

Finally, the Hockey East champion Northeastern Huskies will play the first game of the tournament at 2 p.m. Friday in Cincinnati, Ohio in the Midwest Region. Their next-door neighbor, Boston University, will be in the West Region playing in St. Paul, Minn.


Boston bars to watch your favorite college teams

[bdc-gallery id=”122198″]



Jump To Comments


This discussion has ended. Please join elsewhere on