M.T. Anderson and Kate DiCamillo honored at the BPL

Authors M.T. Anderson, Gregory Maguire and Pam Munoz Ryan at the BPL. (Roger Farrington Photo)

The annual Literary Lights for Children awards were handed out the other night, and winners M.T. Anderson (’’The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing’’), Kate DiCamillo (’’The Tale of Despereaux’’), Gareth Hinds (adaptations of “The Odyssey’’ and “King Lear’’), and Pam Muñoz Ryan (’’Esperanza Rising’’) were on hand. Among the 350 guests gathered in the Boston Public Library’s historic Bates Reading Room were “Wicked’’ author Gregory Maguire, whose latest, “Out of Oz,’’ will be out in a few weeks, BPL associates Vivian and Lionel Spiro, and library lovers Mary and Tom Lentz, Betsy Hall, Susan Sylligardos, Kajy Vicinelli, Mary Winn Hearle, Jean Hynes, Martha McNamara, and Beth Prindle.



This discussion has ended. Please join elsewhere on