Stephen Murphy wins 3d term as Boston City Council president

The Boston City Council voted overwhelmingly today to give Stephen J. Murphy his third consecutive term as the body’s president.

Murphy captured 12 votes from his colleagues on the 13-member City Council. Councilor Charles Yancey voted for himself.

Council President Stephen J. Murphy (David L Ryan / Globe Staff ) —David L. Ryan/Globe Staff

The City Council presidency is largely ceremonial and does not come with a pay raise or strict control over a legislative agenda. But the post does include a bigger office and staff.

“It’s an honor to be selected once again,’’ Murphy said after the vote.

Perhaps more important, Murphy will be first in the line of succession if Mayor Thomas M. Menino, 70, leaves office before his term expires at the end of 2013. Menino has had a string of recent health problems and is recuperating after an eight-week hospital stay.


Menino did not attend today’s first meeting of the council, but Murphy was not upset by his absence.

“We know he’s here,’’ Murphy said. “He’s among us. He was in the building last week.’’

Murphy was elected to the council in 1997 and became the body’s president in 2011. He succeeded Councilor Michael P. Ross, who stepped down after two years because of a council presidency term limit.

Murphy, 53, grew up in Dorchester and Hyde Park. He went to Boston Latin School and Stonehill College and worked as a manager and vice president of a transportation company. He landed a job on Beacon Hill in the mid-1980s.

Murphy did budget work in the state Senate and attorney general’s office before moving to the secretary of state’s office as assistant personnel director. He ran unsuccessfully for School Committee before winning a spot on the City Council.

After choosing its leader, the council voted unanimously to reappoint Maureen Feeney as city clerk.

Loading Comments...